Frequently Asked Questions
Is your driver improvement course Virginia-DMV approved?
Yes, this course is approved to award 5 safe driving points, qualify you for a discount (if applicable) and meet your court driver improvement clinic requirement.
How many safe driving points can I get?
According to the Virginia DMV, you can be awarded up to 5 safe driving points once every 24 months for completing a Virginia driver improvement clinic. You cannot get more than 5 points.
What if I was court-required to take this course?
If a court required you to take driver improvement, it is up to the court as to how many safe driving points you can be awarded. You will not be able to receive an insurance premium reduction if you were court-ordered. Check with your particular court to see if it accepts computer-based courses.
Can I get an insurance discount for taking this course?
Yes, depending on your insurance provider you can be eligible for an insurance discount. However, if you are taking this course to reduce your insurance premium, you will not be eligible to receive the safe driving points.
Is the course entirely online?
While the learning portion of the course is completely online, you must take the final exam at a proctored testing facility.
How long is the course?
This course takes a minimum of 8 hours to complete, as required by the state of Virginia.
Do I have to take the course in one sitting?
No, unlike the classroom setting where you may have to take the course in one sitting, the benefits of taking online traffic school is that once you have registered, you can log in and out of the course as many times as you wish, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. When you log out, our system remembers where you were, and when you log back in it will return you to the same point. If you need to take this course for the DMV, you must complete it within 90 days.
How do I take the final exam?
We will provide FREE locations across the state where the exam may be taken. You will only be able to attempt to complete the final exam once during any 24-hour period. This is mandated by the state of Virginia and applies to every computer-based defensive driving course and driver improvement clinic. Make sure to bring a photo ID to take the final exam. You can view the list of approved locations by clicking here.
When will I get my certificate?
Upon completing the course, we will notify the DMV of your completion on our behalf and mail your Certificate of Completion straight to you.
Am I eligible to take this course?
If you are younger than 20 years of age or hold a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), you are not eligible to complete a computer-based course in Virginia.